Wrist Watch Review https://wristwatchreview.com Unbiased Wrist Watch Reviews Since 2004 Mon, 19 Oct 2020 20:40:05 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=5.4.2 https://i1.wp.com/wristwatchreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/wwr-logo-square.jpg?fit=32%2C32&ssl=1 Wrist Watch Review https://wristwatchreview.com 32 32 Hit the depths with the Ball Engineer Hydrocarbon Deepquest II https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/20/hit-the-depths-with-the-ball-engineer-hydrocarbon-deepquest-ii/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/20/hit-the-depths-with-the-ball-engineer-hydrocarbon-deepquest-ii/#respond Tue, 20 Oct 2020 13:00:00 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=144640 So, last week, I wrote about the first Ball watch with flat tubes on the handset, the Ball Engineer II Timetrekker. In that article, I had wished to see flat tubes on the dial as well – and wouldn’t you know it, that’s precisely what the Ball Engineer Hydrocarbon Deepquest II has on offer.

Now, obviously – by both the name and the photos – the Ball Engineer Hydrocarbon Deepquest II is very much intended to be a dive watch. You’ve got a 1000m WR, and even a helium escape valve. Where, though? That’s a clever trick on this watch – it’s actually integrated into the crown, rather than being another divot on the case. This is important, as it helps maintain the integrity of the titanium case, which is actually a monobloc (so the movement and all are loaded from the front; no removable caseback here).

That’s right – while the flat tubes on the Ball Engineer Hydrocarbon Deepquest II certainly steal the show, the fact that that case (and the bracelet, should you opt for it) being made of titanium is nothing to sneeze at. While the 42mm case is small-ish for a diver, the 15.5mm height certainly is not. So, those weight savings from the use of titanium will be appreciated – and noticed – by anyone more accustomed to beefy steel divers.

Just take a look at that lume shot above – the Ball Engineer Hydrocarbon Deepquest II is quite a beauty there, no? As with last week’s Ball article, this one isn’t quite exactly the one for me, but it’s getting a lot of things right in my book. If you want one of the more unique – and robust – divers out there today, this one can be yours for $3,649 on the rubber strap or $3,749 on the titanium and steel bracelet. ballwatch.ch

Tech Specs from Ball

  • Automatic movement caliber BALL RR1101-C, Chronometer certified COSC
  • 24 micro gas tubes on hour, minute, second, and dial for night reading capability
  • Automatic patented helium release valve
  • Shock resistant to 7,500Gs and Anti-magnetic to 4,800A/m
  • Water-resistant to 1000m/3300ft
  • Hours, minutes, sweep seconds, and date
  • Titanium single block case Ø 42mm, height 15.5 mm
  • Easy-grip unidirectional rotating bezel with Super LumiNova markings to monitor immersion time and decompression stops.
  • Anti-reflective sapphire crystal
  • Screwed-in crown
  • Tapered titanium and stainless steel bracelet with patented folding buckle & extension system or rubber strap with standard buckle
]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/20/hit-the-depths-with-the-ball-engineer-hydrocarbon-deepquest-ii/feed/ 0
ZUM, the watch with a face a robot could love, on Kickstarter https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/19/zum-the-watch-with-a-face-a-robot-could-love-on-kickstarter/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/19/zum-the-watch-with-a-face-a-robot-could-love-on-kickstarter/#respond Mon, 19 Oct 2020 20:38:32 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=144670 There are many wristwatches, and sometimes they all blend together. The ZUM is a regulator watch – meaning, the hours and minutes hands aren’t centrally located. This one’s a little different – and if you don’t move fast, you’ll miss it.

OK, it’s not a true regulator; A true regulator lines up the sub dials vertically, so that you can see when the hands all align. The point of that is that you could adjust the timing of another watch by a regulator as a source of good time.

But that doesn’t matter. No one is adjusting clocks by this watch. Instead, you wear it because it’s different than all the watches you already own. You wear it because it appeals to your sense of fun. You wear it because it looks like a robot. You wear it because it’s modern quality with a design sense that feels like it comes from the late 60s.

The case is a rounded rectangle, a squircle, with two subdials for eyes near the top of the dial. The left eye is hours, and the right eye is minutes. The central seconds completes the face with the nose. The subdials are recessed, giving the dial some dimension and depth. “Automatic” is framed in a wide hexagon, conveniently located where you might expect a mouth.

I know, I call it a robot, but the inspiration was the dashboard for the Dashboard Mercedes-Benz 300 SL Legierung (W198), from 1955–56. It’s really difficult to make a car-inspired watch. This is a good effort at pulling it off.

The border of the dial for the seconds track is again that late 1960s theme: a racing, alternating series of seconds marks. The back of the movement is visible through a display window case back, showing the steering wheel-shaped rotor.

The movement is an NH38, a reliable Seiko. How do you get a 3 handed Seiko into a regulator movment? With a module. A module makes the movement slightly taller, and gives it the ability to locate the hands where ZUM wants them.

The crystal is sapphire. The case is sunray-brushed stainless steel. Leather straps in black or brown are perforated, just like you’d expect for a racing-inspired 1960s watch, recalling Italian driving gloves.

The ZUM R1 is available in Blue with silver subdials, Black with silver subdials, Black with black subdials, and Silver with black subdials. There’s also a blue dial with light gold subdials. Pledge $230, and you could wear one of these time machines, that travels back to the days of the late 1960s. Check it out at kickstarter.

]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/19/zum-the-watch-with-a-face-a-robot-could-love-on-kickstarter/feed/ 0
Seiko is shipping its Street Fighter watches to Chun-Lis and Ryus everywhere https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/19/seiko-is-shipping-its-street-fighter-watches-to-chun-lis-and-ryus-everywhere/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/19/seiko-is-shipping-its-street-fighter-watches-to-chun-lis-and-ryus-everywhere/#respond Mon, 19 Oct 2020 18:14:36 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=144738 First announced over the summer, Seiko’s limited edition, 43mm Street Fighter watches are now trickling into stores worldwide. And while we haven’t yet worn these Seiko 5 Sports-based pieces ourselves, there does appear to be enough here to entice fans of the long-running fighting game series. Hadoken!

Five models are being introduced, each of which is patterned after a character from Street Fighter V, the latest version of the series that pits fighters from all over the world against each other in an epic tournament. (It’s a fighting game, not Shakespeare.) These characters include Ryu, a lone wolf type from Japan who is arguably the main character in the series.

Says Seiko about the Ryu version:

The watch’s design is inspired by his classic “do-gi” Judo uniform, and the scratch-like marks across the bezel reflect the tough training required of Ryu to become a “true fighter”. At the 9 o’clock position is a simplified version of the iconic “Furinkazan” kanji characteristics on his gloves, which signify “as swift as the wind, as gentle as forest, as fierce as fire and as unshakable as the mountain.” These four characters are also printed on the back of the strap while the controller command for his special move, “Hadoken” is discreetly printed on the case back.

The other four versions showcase the same level of detail, from the electricity-like effect of the spiral dial seen in the Blanka variant to the dog tag featured at the 9 o’clock of the Guilde variant. And while it helps if you’re a big fan of the series like we are (we’ve spent a huge amount of time with these games over the years), even non-fans should get a kick out of them. They all run on the 4R36 movement, which has a 41-hour power reserve, and have a 100-meter water resistance. 

Our pick? Probably a tie between the Ryu and Zangief, with its huge Arabic numerals at the 12, 6, and 9 and red-and-black contrast. Really well done.

All five should be available by the time you read this for around $400, with Seiko producing 10,000 of each of them. Grab yours here.

]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/19/seiko-is-shipping-its-street-fighter-watches-to-chun-lis-and-ryus-everywhere/feed/ 0
Prototype fun with the Yema Superman Bronze https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/19/prototype-fun-with-the-yema-superman-bronze/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/19/prototype-fun-with-the-yema-superman-bronze/#respond Mon, 19 Oct 2020 13:00:00 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=144673 Over the last year, we’ve been fortunate to go hands-on with quite a number of the models that Yema has in their catalog. You may have caught word that they recently launched another one on Kickstarter as of late, and we got to spend some time with a prototype of the Yema Superman Bronze.

Now, to start with, this watch will feel very similar to any other Yema Superman model you may have seen or handled, like the one we reviewed, the Yema Superman GMT. Frankly, this new release really solidifies the Superman line as a platform from which the brand can make tweaks and adjustments.

Frankly, the Yema Superman Bronze is a prime example of that. Here, they’ve mixed things up and put a bronze bezel onto the case, as well as a bronze crown and bezel retainer. I like this, because then you don’t have to worry about a fully-bronze case turning your wrist green, while still getting to play around with the patina that will develop (or removing it).

Complimenting this bronze, you’ve got a gilt handset on the Yema Superman Bronze, and either a green (which we reviewed) or grey dial (the sold-out GMT comes in blue or black). The green I knew would look sharp against the bronze (and it did) but I was surprised by how much I liked the look of the grey dial in the photos I saw.

This is all window dressing, however. One of the highlights of these new Yema Superman Bronze watches is the movement inside. Rather than relying on an outside source, Yema is producing movements that they’re labeling as in-house (and I’m not wading into the definition wars with this, just reporting it along). Here, in the three-hander, it’s the YEMA2000 caliber keeping time (the GMT uses a 3000-series movement).

In my time with the watch, the movement worked just fine, and I did not notice any issues with it speeding up or slowing down. Then again, that’s hard to keep an eye on in a review cycle, as it really shows up over a longer timeframe. So, what does that mean for the general buyer? Well, with a new and unknown movement, unless you’ve got a really confident local watchmaker, you’ll be sending this back to France for maintenance.

For the watch geek, though, this means (at least to me) that Yema is signaling that they’re taking greater ownership over what they’re producing with the Yema Superman Bronze. Sure, they’re buying components, but everything they’re doing is built by them, to their specifications, for the design they want to produce.

The Kickstarter campaign for the Yema Superman Bronze is fully funded at the moment, and runs until October 31, 2020. While the two GMT models are sold out, there are still earlybird slots available for the three-hander, starting at $532 which is about a 54% discount. Delivery is anticipated to begin in December – though the other reward levels state it being February 2021, so it may be next year. Check out the details – and get your pledge in if you like – over at the campaign page.

Review Summary

  • Brand & Model: Yema Superman Bronze LE
  • Price: $532 (earlybird) / $1,169 (MSRP)
  • Who’s it for? You like the idea of bronze on a watch, but don’t want to deal with the tarnishing (on the watch or your wrist) of a fully-bronze case
  • Would I wear it? It was an interesting look – but if I had my druthers, I’d go for the sold-out blue GMT version
  • What I’d change: Something with the numerals on the bezel just felt a little too unfinished to me. Perhaps beefing them up and polishing just the numerals would help
  • The best thing about it: It shows how versatile the Superman platform has become for Yema

Tech Specs from Yema

  • Movement
  • Bezel: Stylish sand-blasted bronze bezel. Unidirectional rotatable 60-minutes graduated bezel acting as a count up timer to measure diving time
  • Diving bezel lock mechanism: The unique Superman bezel-lock at 3 o’clock proprietary design has proven very useful to professional divers and is found on all Superman models since 1963
  • High contrast gilt dial: The dark green dial with white printed indices and the gilt hands ensure high readability and a warm shade of bronze
  • Iconic “shovel” seconds hand: The 1970’s iconic sweeping second hand with its head shaped like a shovel adds a distinct touch to this historic reissue
  • Double domed sapphire crystal
    • The Superman Steel Bronze features a high-quality 2.60 mm double domed sapphire crystal offering better readability, enhanced resistance and a resolute vintage look.
    • Premium watches like the Superman Steel Bronze generally use sapphire crystal which is extremely hard (Moh’s scale 9 – Diamond is 10), and will resist scratching by most substances short of diamonds.  
  • Straps
    • Vintage leather: For daily use we designed a brown vintage leather strap that enhances the Superman Steel Bronze overall vintage look and perfectly fits the bronze case natural patina
    • Tropic dive: Inspired from the 1960’s tropical style rubber straps, this second-generation Tropic strap design will please vintage watch collectors but also those who are looking for the perfect strap to wear during aquatic or physical activities
  • Limited Edition: The 316L Steel caseback proudly displays YEMA’s historic crest,  beautifully embossed with a hydraulic press, and a LIMITED EDITION mention engraved with a unique number from 0001 to 1948 (Gray and Green dials).
  • Super-Luminova: The hands, dial markers and bezel graduation are treated with Swiss Super-LumiNova C1 so as to offer perfect readability in low light conditions
  • Steel case – bronze bezel: The Superman bronze bezel and crown offer a stylish contrast with the brushed steel case. Because its ability to patina, each watch bronze bezel will age differently according to its usage and exposure to diverse weather conditions, adding character to the watch and making each timepiece truly one of a kind. The best thing of patina on bronze is that you can easily reverse the process anytime and bring your bronze watch back to a healthy shine in just a few minutes.
  • Case sizes – 39mm and 41mm
    • We used sophisticated 3D modelling technology to recreate an original 1970s YEMA Superman case, which has resulted in a watch with the same proportions as the vintage original i.e. a 39mm diameter case with 19mm lugs width. 
    • Those having a wrist size over 7 inches / 18 cm and those preferring larger standard sizes might privilege the 41mm case with 20mm lugs width variant.
]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/19/prototype-fun-with-the-yema-superman-bronze/feed/ 0
TAG decides its chronos don’t have to be square to be hip https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/16/tag-decides-its-chronos-dont-have-to-be-square-to-be-hip/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/16/tag-decides-its-chronos-dont-have-to-be-square-to-be-hip/#respond Fri, 16 Oct 2020 13:22:28 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=144662 1860 was the year that Edouard Heuer founded his watchmaking shop in the mountains of Switzerland, and today that number has an added significance. 

TAG Heuer has announced two limited edition pieces as part of the ongoing celebration of the brand’s 160th anniversary. Available in blue and white dial versions, these 44mm watches are the first special editions of the TAG Heuer Carrera Sport Chronograph that was introduced earlier this year, and will be available in blue and white dial versions. Each version will be limited to 1860 pieces each, which we think has a nice ring to it.

From TAG Heuer:

The TAG Heuer Carrera Sport Chronograph 160 Years Special Edition was inspired by the classic Heuer “Dato 45”, which in 1965 was notably the first Heuer wrist chronograph ever to feature a turning date disc. Like its famous ancestor, this special TAG Heuer Carrera Sport Chronograph has its date window positioned at 12 o’clock on the dial.

Catherine Eberlé-Devaux, TAG Heuer’s Heritage Director, says, “It was fascinating – truly a privilege – to have a chance to look at all of the outstanding Carrera models when we were creating our anniversary selection. The choice of the 3147N – the in-house reference for the Carrera “Dato 45” – was a bold one because it challenged our design team to create a clean, legible chronograph dial with a date window in an unusual position. They updated and upgraded a true icon, rising to the occasion brilliantly.”

We’re inclined to agree with Eberlé-Devaux, and not just because we were already keen on this year’s Carrera Sport Chronograph. The red-on-white date, located at the 12 o’clock (the date is located at the 6 o’clock on the standard edition), gives the whole piece an extra pop that is particularly striking on the white dial version. That striking contrast is perhaps why we’d give the nod to the white dial version, which just might be our favorite of TAG’s Sport Chronographs released this year.

Look for them beginning in November for $5,950.

]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/16/tag-decides-its-chronos-dont-have-to-be-square-to-be-hip/feed/ 0
Just in time for cooler temps – it’s the Shinola Ice Monster https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/16/just-in-time-for-cooler-temps-its-the-shinola-ice-monster/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/16/just-in-time-for-cooler-temps-its-the-shinola-ice-monster/#respond Fri, 16 Oct 2020 13:00:00 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=144625 It’s been a minute since we’ve had a new release in the diving-focused line from Shinola. Most recently it was their bronze variant (which we covered here), and before that we went hands-on with the Lake Michigan Monster (here). Well, here comes winter, and a new watch perfect for that color palette – the Shinola Ice Monster.

In many, many ways, the Shinola Ice Monster is much the same watch as it’s predecessors. It’s the same case diameter (43mm), dial design, and movement inside (the SW-200). Obviously, there’s a difference in the colors used, with that icy white dial and a black bezel reflecting the icy depths of the Great Lakes. There is, however, another change hiding in plain sight.

For this release, the Shinola Ice Monster has eschewed stainless steel, and gone right to titanium. As far as watch materials go, this is about one of our favorites. It gives you the look and finishing of steel (and is as tough as steel) but is so much lighter, it’s truly a noticeable difference on the wrist. Here, with the watch paired to a bracelet (also titanium) the weight savings will be appreciated by the owners.

Also different here is the fact that Shinola has partnered up with Amy Sacka, a photojournalist who has been documenting the way ice has been changing in the Great Lakes over the past few years. Here’s what she’s got to say about it all:

“On my travels, I documented the longest-running ice-fishing vacation school, ice fishing festivals, an annual all-women ice-fishing weekend, polar bear dips, snowmobile drag races, broom ice hockey matches and flying ice boat meet-ups. I saw the cultural fabric of Michigan stitched together by single-digit temperatures, bundled masses slipping, sliding and celebrating the icy Midwestern madness. Like so many I met on Michigan’s Great Lakes ice, I intently watched the weather for signs of warming temperatures and melting conditions – courting the ice until it ultimately disappeared.

…I learned that the ice cannot be so easily pinned down, its rapid shifts from year-to-year and lake-to-lake, making it difficult to understand and predict into the future, even by climatologists’ estimations. For me, this journey evolved into a relentless pursuit of Midwestern place – of past times and purpose – as much a reflection of my own family history as it is of Great Lakes ice culture.”

– Amy Sacka

If you’re interested in the Shinola Ice Monster, it was just released today for $1,675 directly from Shinola. While I dug the blue dial of the previous version we reviewed, I do have a very soft spot for this sort of arctic crispness in a watch design – this could well be my favorite of the Shinola Monster lineup. shinola.com

Tech specs from Shinola

SKU20194496-sdt-008444999
CASE BACK PLATESignature Iconic Caseback Plate with Laser-Etched Serial Number
CASE SIZE43mm
CASE THICKNESS13mm
MOVEMENTSW200-1 Automatic
MOVEMENT TYPEThree Hand Date
DIAL COLOR DETAILWhite
COLORWhite
BAND MATERIALTitanium Bracelet
STRAP WIDTH22mm
LUG SIZE22mm
STRAP COLOR DETAILBrushed Titanium
CASE MATERIALBrushed Titanium
CASE PLATINGTitanium
CASE FINISHBrushed
TOP RING PLATINGTitanium with Gunmetal Aluminum Insert
TOP RING FINISHBrushed
CROWN PLATINGTitanium
CROWN FINISHBrushed
CROWN CONSTRUCTIONScrew-down
BUCKLE SIZE18mm
BUCKLE PLATINGTitanium
DEPTH RATING30 ATM
CRYSTALSapphire Single dome with Anti Reflective coating
]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/16/just-in-time-for-cooler-temps-its-the-shinola-ice-monster/feed/ 0
Introducing the Ball Engineer II Timetrekker https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/15/introducing-the-ball-engineer-ii-timetrekker/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/15/introducing-the-ball-engineer-ii-timetrekker/#comments Thu, 15 Oct 2020 13:00:00 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=144184 You know me, watch friends – I like GMT complications, I’m a big fan of tritium tubes, and I really dig a cyclops over a date window. Mix all of those together, and you certainly have my attention, and Ball has done that in the past. Well, this time, they’ve taken things up a notch by finally doing something I’d hope they do for awhile now – put flat tritium tubes onto the handset! That’s right – the Ball Engineer II Timetrekker has done something new.

Now, of course, flat tritium tubes are nothing new. We’ve seen them on dials for some time now, and they do present a great level of glow (and even some lovely daytime visibility). In the dark, however, they made the tubes on the hands (the classic round variety) feel positively puny. Well, the Ball Engineer II Timetrekker changes all of that.

Interestingly, the flat tubes are only on the hands of the Ball Engineer II Timetrekker (both main hours and minutes, and the GMT hours), while the numerical indices use the round tubes, building the numbers in the segment style that first grabbed my attention in the Ball lineup so many years ago. We do also have a mix of tube colors here (green and yellow) which no doubt will make things a delight in the dark.

Now, is the Ball Engineer II Timetrekker my absolute favorite from the brand? Well, no – while I dig the flat tubes on the hands, and the cyclops and the GMT, I tend to prefer watches without the extra pushers on the case (here, they adjust the GMT hand) and I think I’d like flat tubes on the dial as well. But that’s me, waiting to see what comes next. If you dig this look, there’s a special pre-order price of $2,430 available until October 28, 2020 (after which it goes to $2,860). So, if that’s you, move quickly! ballwatch.ch

Tech Specs from Ball Watch

  • WEIGHT: Approx. 190g
  • MOVEMENT: Automatic caliber BALL RR1304-C; Chronometer certified COSC
  • SIZE (CASE): Ø 40mm, height 12.8 mm
  • WATER RESISTANCE: 100m/330ft
  • ANTI-MAGNETISM: 4,800A/m
  • MICRO GAS TUBES: 49 micro gas tubes on hour, minute, second and dual time hands and dial for night reading capability
  • FUNCTIONS
    • Dual time zone indication with patented quick set mechanism
    • Day-night indicators
    • Hours, minutes, sweep seconds and magnified date
  • 5,000Gs shock resistance
  • CASE MATERIAL: 904L Stainless steel; Sapphire crystal transparent case back
  • CROWN: Screwed-in crown
  • CRYSTAL: Anti-reflective sapphire crystal
  • DIAL COLOR: Blue, black, or brown
  • BRACELET: 904L Stainless steel bracelet with folding buckle
  • LUG WIDTH: 20mm
]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/15/introducing-the-ball-engineer-ii-timetrekker/feed/ 1
The Casio GRB200RAF honors RAF flyboys https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/14/the-casio-grb200raf-honors-raf-flyboys/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/14/the-casio-grb200raf-honors-raf-flyboys/#respond Wed, 14 Oct 2020 18:28:42 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=144652 Pip pip and all that. Casio has announced a new GRAVITYMASTER model in collaboration with UK’s Royal Air Force. The model, which is a specially designed G-Shock, comes with a carbon-infused resin bezel and band.

From the release:

The premium Carbon-insert Bezel that is engineered within the GRB200RAF boasts a three-layer structure that provides the utmost strength to withstand harsh conditions pilots are faced with on a daily basis. The top layer is also semi-transparent to reveal the carbon material inside for a tough, yet stylish look.

The collaborative timepiece also arrives with practical details including extra-large buttons set at different angles and shapes to prevent operating error while wearing gloves, a bright green dial and digital display for improved readability under harsh situations, and more.

You’re not going to notice much unique about this piece unless you check out the buckle but it’s a nice addition to the GRAVITYMASTER line-up. It’s available online and in stores for $370.

]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/14/the-casio-grb200raf-honors-raf-flyboys/feed/ 0
Spending time with the Atticus Pelion https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/14/spending-time-with-the-atticus-pelion/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/14/spending-time-with-the-atticus-pelion/#respond Wed, 14 Oct 2020 13:00:00 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=144595 Would you look at that – I’m back with a review! I just recently had some much-needed time off to reset and recharge, but that’s over, and I’m back to spill some digital ink. Today’s review is actually a loaner I had come in prior to vacation time, but life is what it is. Better late than never, it’s the review of the Atticus Pelion.

Now, you might be wondering – who is this Atticus watch company, anyways? Well, there’s actually a familiar name behind the brand (even if you don’t know it). That name is Rusty Mahony. Who’s he? Well, only the guy who’s helped Chris “Doc” Vail get a number of Lew & Huey (and now NTH) watch designs created. Now, Mahony is striking out on his own, using all he learned from Doc.

While the Adventure series has a few different designs in it, I specifically requested to have a look at the Atticus Pelion. To look at the design, it should appear pretty familiar. Rather than the sub designs we’re used to from NTH, here, we’ve got that iconic Explorer look to the dial, with a bit of a snowflake mix up in there for good measure. For me, that’s a good thing, as I definitely prefer the snowflake hands to the Mercedes hands, when it comes to the styles coming from the crown.

All of those are wrapped into a delightfully compact case – 38mm in diameter, and just 11mm thick. In other words, not too big, not too small. That’s something all of the watches that Mahony has designed seem to have in common, and I, for one, am a fan. Here, it’s paired to a tapered steel bracelet (20mm at the lugs, 16mm at the clasp) that keeps the vintage feel in place. Also, it keeps it so the bracelet doesn’t feel like some weird, chunky brick when compared to a case profile.

In other words, the design is well thought out, and looks to be well-sorted. In my time with the Atticus Pelion – powered by a Miyota 9000-series automatic movement – it was a delight for the daily WFH grind. It was a cinch to read the time at a glance (there’s a reason why black-and-white color schemes are so popular for watches), and the date is there, hiding out at 6 o’clock for when you need it, but otherwise hiding in the background when you don’t.

When the lights go down, the lume on the Atticus Pelion is plenty bright – and there’s even a dose of it on the crown, which is a fun little trick. In short, it’s a delightful, well-designed homage to the Explorer lineup, and is just one of the Adventure series – so if you don’t like the looks, there’s other ones to catch your eye.

Now, for the good news, bad news. Good news is that the Atticus Pelion will be available for $675, which is pretty affordable. The bad news is this – what I spent time with was just a prototype. Which means they’re not actually taking pre-orders for it just yet (the plan is to do that early next year). The good news there is one would presume there will be a discount when that opens up, so we’ll let you know when we’ve got more details. You can also sign up for their newsletter, so that will keep you up-to-date as well. atticuswatch.com

Review Summary

  • Brand & Model: Atticus Pelion with Date
  • Price: $675
  • Who’s it for? You want a well-designed, and affordable, homage to the venerable Explorer
  • Would I wear it? Yes, yes I would
  • The best thing about it: Got to love the compact case and bracelet!

Tech Specs from Atticus

  • Case Diameter: 38mm
  • Case Length: 46mm
  • Total Height: 11mm
  • Water Resistance: 10ATM/100m
  • Custom bracelet with a 20-16mm taper
  • Movement: Japanese Miyota 9000 Series
  • In-stock Price: $675
  • Pre-order Price: TBD
  • Pre-order start: Early 2021
  • Expected delivery: TBD
]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/14/spending-time-with-the-atticus-pelion/feed/ 0
Chopard takes on Daytona and the 1970s. It’s the new Chopard Alpine Eagle XL Chrono https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/12/chopard-takes-on-daytona-and-the-1970s-its-the-new-chopard-alpine-eagle-xl-chrono/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/12/chopard-takes-on-daytona-and-the-1970s-its-the-new-chopard-alpine-eagle-xl-chrono/#respond Mon, 12 Oct 2020 23:46:25 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=144586 Chopard have been making beautiful watches for years, that are somewhat forgettable. If you think of them at all, it’s likely for the Mille Miglia Chopard watches with silicone rubber strap made to look like tire tread.

But now, they’re going old school, and reaching further upscale. The Alpine Eagle XL Chrono is a 3 register chronograph in a sports watch steel case, with integrated bracelet. It’s very 70s, babe. Boffo, babe, socko, babe.

The recipe is simple: Start with a 3 register chrono, 3-6-9 positions. Put it into a case with integrated lugs and a bezel that is screwed to the caseback through the mid case, sandwiching the whole thing together.

Load it up with a mix of polished and brushed surfaces. The functional bezel screws are polished, and indexed so that they’re all aligned around the circumference of the bezel.

The dial is textured with almost a swirl-shaped brushing. The subdials are flat by contrast. The center link of the bracelet is polished, and the beveled edge of the bezel is, too. The rest is brushed entirely, excepting a little polish on the case sides, but not the lugs.

The material is interesting, too. This is Chopard’s own alloy, called A223. A223 steel is less allergenic than surgical steel, 50% more scratch resistant than other stainless, and contains recycled steel in it.

The movement is Chopard’s 03.05-C. The complications in this chrono are hours, minutes, small seconds, date, and a flyback column-wheel chronograph with counters for 30 minutes and 12 hours.

The options are kept under tight control as well: You can have a blue dial or black dial, a steel case or two tone rose gold and steel. That’s it. The indices are applied, and the whole thing is water resistant to 100 meters. If you have around 20 to 30 grand, it could be yours. The Lucent Steel A223 is $19,200; Lucent Steel A223 and ethical gold, for a mere $26,800. Chopard.com

]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/10/12/chopard-takes-on-daytona-and-the-1970s-its-the-new-chopard-alpine-eagle-xl-chrono/feed/ 0