Wrist Watch Review https://wristwatchreview.com Unbiased Wrist Watch Reviews Since 2004 Fri, 07 Aug 2020 21:48:03 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=5.4.2 https://i1.wp.com/wristwatchreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/wwr-logo-square.jpg?fit=32%2C32&ssl=1 Wrist Watch Review https://wristwatchreview.com 32 32 A roundup of some recent Projects Watches releases https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/08/07/a-roundup-of-some-recent-projects-watches-releases/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/08/07/a-roundup-of-some-recent-projects-watches-releases/#respond Fri, 07 Aug 2020 13:01:00 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=143648 Even in the midst of a worldwide pandemic, watch brands are still releasing new watches. Some releases have been pushed back, but others are charging forward, given the long lead times that the development cycle can engender. While these aren’t the newest of the new, Projects Watches has still released some interesting new pieces that are worth having a quick peek at.

As you’re aware – or should be – Projects Watches creates a variety of watch designs, often relying on designers from outside of watches to come up with the creations. The first of these is the $145 Mr. Mori, designed by Daniel Will-Harris. Here, you’ve got the skeleton (somehow with a heart, still) front and center, with it’s arms taking the place of a standard handset. A morbid reminder that each tick of the watch brings us another step closer to looking like the fellow on the watch here, yeah?

Now, if you’d prefer something a bit lighter, whimsical, and more geometric, then the $145 Toot Sweet might be what you want for your summer. Again, Mr. Will-Harris is behind this design, which is utilizing a trio of discs with the patterns printed on them, spinning around to tell the time. As much a piece of modern art as it is a watch, I’d say.

If you like the colors, but are looking for something a bit more cause-oriented, then perhaps the $150 Pride Watch is the flag you’re looking to fly. Again we’ve got discs indicating the time, but in the rainbow hues associated with, well, rainbows and of course the pride flag. For this design, we’ve got Alex Donahue at the drawing board.

Last, but certainly not least, we’ve got the $185 Vertere designed by Moshe Safdie. You of course have the colorful pips (and one bar) spinning around to indicate the time. This is all set over a trippy monochromatic pattern that looks, almost to my eye, like little bacteria doing their thing. Definitely one that will set your eyes to tripping if you stare too long, I think.

And there you have it – four of the more recent releases from Projects Watches. All of these feature steel cases, and quartz movements. We’ve linked to the specific watches above. If you like the idea but perhaps not these specific designs, then I’d suggest checking out their site, as they’ve got a lot of really clever designs, and one is sure to speak to your inner artist or architect. projectswatches.com

]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/08/07/a-roundup-of-some-recent-projects-watches-releases/feed/ 0
Now funding: the Vilhelm Prism https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/08/06/now-funding-the-vilhelm-prism/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/08/06/now-funding-the-vilhelm-prism/#comments Thu, 06 Aug 2020 13:00:00 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=143634 As a brand, I’d say that Vilhelm is not afraid to take chances with their designs. We saw that with their inaugural Elemental (covered here) or the Talos (here) which took the Elemental design and mixed up the materials used. Well, now we’ve got a fully new design, along with one of our favorite materials making the debut in the Vilhelm Prism.

Let’s start with materials. The Vilhelm Prism is offering up an alternative to the steel sport watch by bringing us a case and bracelet made of titanium, which is no slouch whatsoever. You’ll get toughness and durability, but an overall lighter package than you would otherwise with steel.

Now, on to design. If you had to pick a single word to describe the Vilhelm Prism, it would be “angles”. Just as car designs can drift from curves being the favored shape to sharp edges, we can see that taking place in watches as well. That’s much less seasonal, of course. Here, you’ve got all manner of angles, though hopefully with the sharp edges rounded and beveled off a bit.

Tucked into the case of the Vilhelm Prism you’ve either got a Sellita SW200 (in the smoked dials) or a STP6-15 skeletonized movement (in the open dials). Either way, you’re getting yourself a Swiss movement – which, combined with the titanium, seems like we’d be setup for sticker shock. Here, that’s not the case. The smoked dial version of the Vilhelm Prism starts at $653, and the skeletonized one comes in at $842.

The campaign for the Vilhelm Prism is running until September 3, 2020, and has already hit its funding goal. We know the brand has delivered before, so it seems like there should be a great chance of this watch getting into backer’s hands in January 2021. You can check out all the details over at the campaign page. vilhelmwatches.com

Watch Overview

  • Brand & Model: Vilhelm Prism
  • Price: $653 (smoked dial) / $842 (skeleton dial)
  • Who we think it might be for: You’re looking for a sports watch that is full of angles and isn’t made from steel
  • Would I buy one for myself based on what I’ve seen? Titanium plus a blue dial? It’s tempting!
  • What spoke to me the most about this watch: Aside from the use of titanium, it’s the bold embracing of angles, angles everywhere!

Tech Specs from Vilhelm

  • SMOKED DIAL VARIANTS:
    • Grade 2 Titanium Case & Bracelet 
    • Swiss Sellita SW200 
    • 100WR
  •  SKELETON DIAL VARIANTS:
    •  Grade 2 Titanium Case & Bracelet
    • Swiss STP6-15 Skeleton
    • 100WR
  •  Case dimensions
    • 40mm Case
    • 45mm lug to lug
    • 12mm thickness 
  • LUG WIDTH: 22MM; tapers to 20MM at the Buckle

]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/08/06/now-funding-the-vilhelm-prism/feed/ 1
Ran out of things to listen to? Accutron is here to help https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/08/05/ran-out-of-things-to-listen-to-accutron-is-here-to-help/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/08/05/ran-out-of-things-to-listen-to-accutron-is-here-to-help/#respond Wed, 05 Aug 2020 13:00:00 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=143629 How, you might ask? Sure, they’re supporters of the Grammys, but this isn’t about music. No, you see, Bulova is embracing the Mad Men pitch of ““It’s Not a Timepiece. It’s a Conversation Piece” and launching a brand-new podcast, The Accutron Show.

Who do they have hosting the show? Glad you asked. They’ve got Entertainment Reporter Bill McCuddy, Journalist David Graver (Cool Hunting, New York Times, Vogue), and Editor Scott Alexander (GQ, Playboy) on deck to keep the show on the rails. Along with that crew, it looks like they’ve got guests lined up. The first three episodes (at least that I see out there) have the likes of Reginald Brack, Sam Phillips, and Mike Bulmash on deck.

If you’re looking for something new to check out, the Accutron Show could be a nice change of pace. I’ve not listened to it yet, but there are 3 30-minute episodes out there, and I’ve put them in my queue to check out. You can of course find them in Apple podcasts, Spotify, and Stitcher, and new episodes are planned to be released weekly. accutronwatch.com

]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/08/05/ran-out-of-things-to-listen-to-accutron-is-here-to-help/feed/ 0
Introducing the Laurent Ferrier Grand Sport Tourbillon https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/08/04/introducing-the-laurent-ferrier-grand-sport-tourbillon/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/08/04/introducing-the-laurent-ferrier-grand-sport-tourbillon/#respond Tue, 04 Aug 2020 13:00:59 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=143606 Ok, ok – “introducing” is a bit of a stretch, as this is a watch that hit the streets all the way back in April. That said, it’s been on my list to write up because it’s just such a surprisingly cool, sleeper-style watch. Let’s have a peek at what the Laurent Ferrier Grand Sport Tourbillon has hiding under the hood.

Before I even took a close look at the specs on the Laurent Ferrier Grand Sport Tourbillon (all listed below), the dial grabbed my eye. You’ve got those elongated teardrop indices filled with a bright orange luminous paint, and dagger-style hands with those same tear drops set inside. This is set over a gradient blue (in the center) to black (at the edge) dial, which means this watch has one of my favorite color combinations occurring.

This is all set into what appears to my eye to be a modified cushion case, which holds a soft spot in my heart. Set into that, the Laurent Ferrier Grand Sport Tourbillon has the brand’s first integrated steel bracelet, completing that steel sportwatch look. The bracelet itself is classic and tapered on the outer edges, and has “Hershey Nugget” style center links, playing with the light.

So, off the front, the Laurent Ferrier Grand Sport Tourbillon is one I’m a fan of. Then, you flip it over, and see, well, just look at that picture above. You may not see a LOT of the movement, but what you do see really counts. Some lovely finishing, bright golden flares of color from the gear train, and then the tourbillon down at the bottom, giving you your own portable whirlwind.

Suffice to say – I’m a fan of the Laurent Ferrier Grand Sport Tourbillon. And while I’d love to get one in for a review loan, with a pricetag of $185,000, that’s simply something that isn’t going to be happening. Ah, perchance to dream. It’s a lovely piece, and I’d say if you ever see one in person, make an opportunity to check it out more closely if possible. I can’t imagine you’d be disappointed. laurentferrier.ch

Watch Overview

  • Brand & Model: Laurent Ferrier Grand Sport Tourbillon
  • Price: $185,000
  • Who we think it might be for: You like the sleeper-car ethos, hiding that tourbillon under “just” a three-hander
  • Would I buy one for myself based on what I’ve seen? If money were no object, yes
  • What spoke to me the most about this watch: While the dial is clean and uncluttered, it’s superbly done. To flip it over and see that movement? *chef’s kiss*

Tech Specs from Laurent Ferrier

MOVEMENT:

  • Manual winding
  • Diameter: 14’’’ (Ø 31.60 mm)
  • Thickness: 5.57 mm
  • Frequency: 3Hz (21600 vibrations/hour)
  • Power reserve: 80 hours
  • 188 mechanical parts / 23 jewels
  • Hours and minutes in the centre
  • Small seconds at 6 o’clock on tourbillon frame pivot
  • Tourbillon rotating cage visible through sapphire case back
  • Horizontal satin brushed bridges with a ruthenium treatment

TOURBILLON FEATURES:

  • Tourbillon, opposite double balance spring
  • Swiss” lever escapement
  • Balance at variable geometry, with screw
  • Tourbillon frame carrier in periphery

TECHNICAL CHARACTERISTICS:

Case:

  • Stainless steel
  • Dimensions: 44 mm
  • Middle and bezel hooked, screwed bottom
  • Sapphire bottom, tourbillon movement vision
  • Water resistant at 100 meters
  • Tinted sapphire glass
  • Satin finishing on the sides and polished bezel
  • Sporty bolts on the case back

Dial:

  • Gradient blue opaline in centre and black at the periphery
  • Small second at 6 o’clock
  • Indexes: 18K/750 210Pd white gold with orange superluminova

Hands:

  • 18K/750 210Pd white gold
  • Hours and minutes: ‘’Assegai-shaped’’ with orange superluminova
  • Seconds: baton-type

Strap:

  • Stainless steel integrated bracelet with 3 links
  • Folding clasp
]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/08/04/introducing-the-laurent-ferrier-grand-sport-tourbillon/feed/ 0
Just launched: The MAALS Giri Ventiquattro https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/08/03/just-launched-the-maals-giri-ventiquattro/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/08/03/just-launched-the-maals-giri-ventiquattro/#respond Mon, 03 Aug 2020 13:00:00 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=143549 Hey, do remember MAALS? We went hands on with their first model (right here) a little over two years ago, and now they’re back with their latest creation, just launched today on Kickstarter: the MAALS Giri Ventiquattro.

While the MAALS Giri Ventiquattro is a wholly new watch, they’ve still kept touches that tie it to the first one – primarily, their silhouette logo (which is the two brothers) and the triangular accent (inspired by Alfa Romeo). Also, if you flip the watch over, you’ll see the astronaut reappearing, this time in a different piece of art.

While the original JOTM model relied on discs to display the hours and seconds (giving the watch a single-hander look) we’ve gone a bit more traditional here. You’ve got a trio of hands indicating the time, and another hand spinning around on the day/night indicator at the tip of the triangle. Want another hand? Ok, they’ve got you, with the power reserve indicator over between 9 and 10. Finally, in terms of complications, you’ve got the date display over there at 3 o’clock (unfortunately with the triple-wide cutout).

For this launch, the MAALS Giri Ventiquattro is coming in four different styles:

  • A blue dial set in a polished case
  • A black dial in a DLC coated case
  • A white “panda” dial in the DLC case
  • A black dial in a rose gold DLC case

All of these come with color-coordinated straps, and super lume on the dials. The exception here is the panda dial – that’s actually a full lume dial (which are a treat if you’ve never experienced one) and has skeletonized hands.

As mentioned, the MAALS Giri Ventiquattro just launched today on Kickstarter, with a tidy earlybird discount. Those start at £350 (approx $450), but only for the first 50 backers. So, if you’re interested, head on over to the campaign page and get your money down. campaign page

Watch Overview

  • Brand & Model: MAALS Giri Ventiquattro
  • Price: Super early bird pricing starts at £350 (£100 below retail price)
  • Who we think it might be for: You’re looking for an affordable three-hander with a power reserve indicator, all-mechanical
  • Would I buy one for myself based on what I’ve seen? The style is interesting, but it’s just not a good fit for me, personally
  • What spoke to me the most about this watch: Having the power reserve and day/night indication at this pricepoint is something special

Tech Specs from MAALS

  • Miyota 9134 mechanical automatic movement
  • 40mm 316L polished or DLC stainless steel case
  • 12.5mm height
  • 46.5mm lug to lug
  • Blue sunray dial, Black or White matte dial (colourway dependent)
  • 42-hour power reserve
  • Flat Sapphire screen with anti-reflection coating
  • Six screw half exhibition caseback with sapphire glass and exclusive artwork engraving by OKSE
  • Super lume numbers and indices (blue, black and rose versions only), full dial super lume (white dial version only)
  • 5ATM water resistance
  • Polished crown
  • Colour coded water resistant Cordura strap with leather underside (blue, black and white version)
  • Colour coded padded sailcloth leather strap (rose gold version)
  • 24-month International warranty
]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/08/03/just-launched-the-maals-giri-ventiquattro/feed/ 0
The Giorgio Fedon 1919 Skywalker is so weird it just might work https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/07/31/the-giorgio-fedon-1919-skywalker-is-so-weird-it-just-might-work/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/07/31/the-giorgio-fedon-1919-skywalker-is-so-weird-it-just-might-work/#respond Fri, 31 Jul 2020 19:40:35 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=143600 Hanging out on Massdrop I spotted something that is just weird enough – and cheap enough – to be worth a second look. It’s called the Giorgio Fedon 1919 Skywalker and it costs $179 for a 24-jewel SII Japan NH39 movement inside a case that owes allegiance to the Panerai brigade.

The watch, which comes in multiple colors, features a standard face with open balance wheel and an odd little 24-hour dial at about 10 o’clock. There is no date window but it has a crown lock that looks pretty cool.

I like fun, inexpensive pieces that take into consideration good taste and workmanship. These things are fascinating to me and might make a good addition to your beater box. But “Skywalker?” What’s up with that?

Anyway, check it out here.

]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/07/31/the-giorgio-fedon-1919-skywalker-is-so-weird-it-just-might-work/feed/ 0
Tom Ford is introducing interchangeable bracelets https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/07/31/tom-ford-is-introducing-interchangeable-bracelets/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/07/31/tom-ford-is-introducing-interchangeable-bracelets/#respond Fri, 31 Jul 2020 13:00:00 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=143482 I know what you’re thinking – because it’s the same thing I thought when I got the press release. That being that, well, changeable bracelets aren’t really an innovation. Sure, quick release spring bars are the newer hotness, but it’s been done. But what it seems Tom Ford has done here has taken the idea of a pass-through textile strap, and applied it to a bracelet.

If you take a closer look, you can see that there’s a small black plate that the two sides of the bracelet attaches to. On one hand, that makes some sense as you’d not want yet another piece of metal banging against the back of the watch case. However, it is still adding some bulk underneath the case – which, when it’s 30mm x 44mm (for the larger watch) or 27mm x 40mm, that’s still going to be some noticeable bulk.

Now, myself, I don’t see much of a problem for changing a bracelet for a strap, even if quick-change springbars aren’t part of the bargain. But I suppose not everyone is down with the nitty gritty of that sort of effort, and hence we’ve got these new sorts of ideas hitting the market. These new bracelets were announced earlier this week, available in three finishes (polished stainless-steel, brushed stainless-steel, and black matte DLC) to match the finish of your watch.

Here’s what Mr. Ford (the very one behind the brand) has to say about these bracelets:

“This metal band has literally taken two years to develop and I don’t think that there has ever been anything like it,” said Mr. Ford. “ It was an enormous technological challenge. As with all of our bands the strap simply slips through the back of the watch and can transform a leather strapped watch into an all metal watch in a matter of seconds. This is the key to my watch collection: once you own a case that you love it can be changed and transformed into many variations to suit your mood or the occasion almost instantly. This is a revolutionary strap and I am incredibly proud of it.”

Tom Ford

For the bracelet that fits your Tom Ford 001, you’ll be paying either $820 (for stainless) or $1,320 (black DLC). Now, do note that this is in addition to the base price of the quartz watch runs from $2,100 to $2,200 (for stainless steel) and $3,500 to $3,600 for the black DLC. And should you be looking for one to fit your Tom Ford 002, those will be coming in November 2020. And in the meantime, we’re working to get a loaner in. tomford.com

]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/07/31/tom-ford-is-introducing-interchangeable-bracelets/feed/ 0
Is the Rado True Thinline Anima the watch of 2020? https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/07/30/is-the-rado-true-thinline-anima-the-watch-of-2020/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/07/30/is-the-rado-true-thinline-anima-the-watch-of-2020/#respond Thu, 30 Jul 2020 13:00:00 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=143539 Well, not in the sense of representing the year, given that this year really isn’t in anybody’s top anything given all the problems. But, if you’re going to limit yourself to releasing 2020 pieces of a watch, well, the tie-in is there. This new Rado True Thinline Anima takes everything we like about the True Thinline and dials it up a notch.

Now, we’ve talked about the True Thinline watches before and have even reviewed one (here). There are two major takeaways from this line, in general – they’re super-thin, and they feature colorized ceramic cases and bracelets. Those two together make for a very comfortable fit on the wrist, as well as a look and feel unlike anything you’d get from steel. Generally, when they introduce a new model there’s a new color of ceramic coming along for the ride, and this one is no different – a matte-finish olive green. We tend to associate that with military-inspired stuff, but this is definitely no trench watch.

No, the Rado True Thinline Anima is rather elegant. At it’s heart you’ve got an automatic mechanical movement (no mean feat for a case this thin) with a very tidy 64-hour power reserve. While you’ve got that high-tech ceramic protecting it on the sides, you also have a boxed sapphire crystal on top, and a titanium case back closing things in. All in all, it only offers a 30m WR rating, but that’s enough for washing your hands or getting caught in the rain. Swimming? Yeah, this isn’t the watch for that.

In terms of the wider True Thinline, well, line, this is the most complicated dial that I’ve seen appear. The dial itself is skeletonized in a very architectural manner, and even the date wheel has been carved out. I’ve not seen this before, and it allows it to sort of blend into the other background bits (along with the carbon fiber weave look on the movement spacer) except for where it comes into the date window at 6 o’clock. Many bits of the movement and the dial are dark and matte, so that should help the polished dauphine hands to stand out, but that’s something you’d really want to see in person to tell.

And if you do see the Rado True Thinline Anima in person? Be sure to look for the detail I really like on all automatic Rado watches – the spinning anchor. Here, rather than being up at 12 o’clock, it’s mounted just above the date window in the 6 o’clock line. It’s a busier look than we normally see from Rado, but it’s one the best-done skeletonizations I’ve seen as of late. You can check out all the details, and get your own for $3,000, direct from rado.com.

Watch Overview

  • Brand & Model: Rado True Thinline Anima
  • Price: $3,000
  • Who we think it might be for: You’ve liked the ultra-thin ceramic creations, but prior ones were just too “plain” for your tastes
  • Would I buy one for myself based on what I’ve seen? Skeleton watches are toss of the coin for me – if they’re not legible (and that’s hard to tell from photos) it quickly becomes a no
  • What spoke to me the most about this watch: While I don’t like exposed date wheels – in general – this one I do actually like, as it becomes part of the architecture of the dial

Tech Specs from Rado

  • Ref. 766.6112.3.031
  • Movement: 111?2 ETA A31.L02, automatic, 25 rubies, 3 hands, date at 6 o’clock, skeletonised calendar disc, 64-hour power reserve, aluminium movement with black bridges and black DLC-coated rotor
  • Case
    • Matt olive green high-tech ceramic case, monobloc construction Titanium case back with sapphire crystal
    • Matt olive green high-tech ceramic crown
    • Box sapphire crystal with anti-reflective coating on both sides Water resistant to 3 bar (30 m)
    • Special engraving on the case back: LIMITED EDITION ONE OUT OF 2020
  • Dial
    • matt olive green skeletonised
    • Olive green flange
    • Carbon fibre structure
    • Rhodium coloured applied indexes Rhodium coloured, moving anchor symbol White printed Rado and Automatic logos
  • Hands: rhodium coloured
  • Bracelet: matt olive green high-tech ceramic 3-fold titanium folding clasp
  • Dimensions: 40.0 x 44.8 x 10.8 (W x L x H in mm)
]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/07/30/is-the-rado-true-thinline-anima-the-watch-of-2020/feed/ 0
You can dive into travel with the Mido Ocean Star GMT https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/07/29/you-can-dive-into-travel-with-the-mido-ocean-star-gmt/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/07/29/you-can-dive-into-travel-with-the-mido-ocean-star-gmt/#respond Wed, 29 Jul 2020 13:00:00 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=143526 We first got to do a hands-on review with the Mido Ocean Star diver last year (which you can see here). I came away from that hands-on experience impressed, but Mido knew there was another way to up the game, and they have my number. By that, I mean they put my favorite complication into the new Mido Ocean Star GMT.

The Mido Ocean Star GMT is very much a familiar watch, at least if you’ve been paying attention to the Mido Ocean Star lineup. And why not? If you’ve got a solidly-designed diver, why not use it as a template to mix things up? Here, you’ve still got the Mido Caliber 80 automatic movement (80-hour power reserve is the type of overkill we like), here though with the requisite gears added into the train to enable that 24-hour hand to swing around the dial.

Each of the colorways of the Mido Ocean Star GMT have a slightly different scheme on the black dial, which you can see by comparing the blue one (up top) to the stainless bracelet version just above (and then the two-tone down below). I like that they gave this some attention, so it’s not just a difference in the way it attaches to your wrist, you’ve actually got some choice in what color you’re getting (well, aside from that deep black dial). On the blue version, the GMT and seconds hand are more of a purple; on this steel, it’s in orange, and then the two-tone has things in rose gold.

As we were being presented the various iterations (via a Zoom calls, as all things are these days) and reviewing these photos afterwards, I was struck by how much I actually like this two-tone version of the Mido Ocean Star GMT. The one on the blue textile strap, that’s almost a “gimme” in terms of my preferences. However, I’ve been coming around more to the two-tone look, and here the rose gold softens the harshness that I associate with yellow gold. This also gives things a much more formal look and feel to the watch.

Regardless of which of the three versions you choose, the caseback of the Mido Ocean Star GMT will give you a handy chart of various world cities and where they are in relation to GMT zero. IE, the sort of things that can really complicate a dial of a world timer, but a handy reference – right on your wrist – when you’re not near a computer or phone to look up the times.

The Mido Ocean Star GMT was just released earlier this month, and as mentioned, comes in three versions. The one on the blue textile strap and with blue and purple on the dial goes for $1,190. If you want to go up to the bracelet option, it’s a reasonable bump to $1,250, while the two-tone steel and rose gold comes in at $1,400. While you may not be a diver, there’s no disputing the robustness and timelessness of a dive watch. Adding in the GMT complication ups the utility, and is presented here in a few different looks to fit your own tastes. Myself, I am a fan, and will definitely be looking into getting a review loaner in for a hands-on review. midowatches.com

Watch Overview

  • Brand & Model: Mido Ocean Star GMT
  • Price: $1,190 (textile) / $1,250 (bracelet) / $1,400 (two-tone)
  • Who we think it might be for: You want “one watch” to work for the office (if we ever go back to one), the weekends, or even to the occasional dressed-up setting, all while tracking a second timezone with the greatest of ease
  • Would I buy one for myself based on what I’ve seen? If I ignored what I already had, yes. The blue version on textile is quite nice, but that two-tone is looking very, very sharp as well.
  • What spoke to me the most about this watch: Clean diver design with a GMT complication added? If you’re not going for a thin piece, this is the path to go!

Tech Specs from Mido

  • Movement: Automatic Mido Caliber 80 (ETA C07.661 base), 11’’’, Ø25.60 mm, height: 5.77 mm, 25 jewels, 21,600 vph, finely decorated Elaboré-grade movement, oscillating weight decorated with Geneva stripes and the Mido logo. Functions: HMSD + GMT 24H. Adjusted on 3 different positions for high accuracy. Up to 80 hours of power reserve.
  • Case: Satin-finished and polished stainless steel, Ø44 mm, 2 pieces, unidirectional rotating bezel in blue-coloured ceramic, sapphire crystal with an anti-reflective treatment on both sides, finely decorated Elaboré-grade movement, case back engraved with time zones, engraved serial number, screwed case back and crown, water-resistant up to a pressure of 20 bar (200 m / 660 ft).
  • Strap: Blue fabric with rolled edges and white stitching at the lugs, pin buckle in satin-finished and polished stainless steel.
  • Dial : Velvety black, individually applied indexes with white Super-LumiNova®, date at 3 o’clock. Second time zone indicated on the black and blue flange.
  • Hands: Diamond-cut hour and minute hands with central groove and white Super-LumiNova®, diamond-cut sweep-seconds hand with blue varnished tip and white Super-LumiNova®, and blue varnished second-time-zone hand with white Super-LumiNova®.
]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/07/29/you-can-dive-into-travel-with-the-mido-ocean-star-gmt/feed/ 0
Manero Flyback by Carl F. Bucherer is just plain nice https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/07/28/manero-flyback-by-carl-f-bucherer-is-just-plain-nice/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/07/28/manero-flyback-by-carl-f-bucherer-is-just-plain-nice/#respond Tue, 28 Jul 2020 14:22:00 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=143519 To hear Carl F. Bucherer talk about it, this watches designed for the “cosmopolitan man” who enjoys “being open-minded and exuding the confidence and style to succeed, wherever [he is.]”

Instead, let’s focus on how nice this watch is. Bucherer is a smaller manufacture with a lot of good pieces and this one, in particular, has a great look and a flyback chrono – basically, a chronograph that pops back and restarts at the press of a button – is a nice complication.

From the release:

Both of the new models from this iconic watch family feature the color blue – the color of the horizon. A 43 mm diameter stainless steel case frames the exquisite blue dial, which features a chronograph counter, small seconds subdial, date display, and central hour and minute hands. This stylish new model is available on a flexible nine-link metal bracelet or a blue textile strap woven from radiant blue thread with a luster that creates a fascinating 3-D effect.

Further, also please ignore Bucherer’s motto of “Wherever time takes you, Lucerne travels with you.” It doesn’t make much sense in an era when you can’t get on a plane but feel free to pick one of these up so you can sit one your couch and stare longingly at the cosmopolitan skies.

]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/07/28/manero-flyback-by-carl-f-bucherer-is-just-plain-nice/feed/ 0