Wrist Watch Review https://wristwatchreview.com Unbiased Wrist Watch Reviews Since 2004 Fri, 18 Oct 2019 12:31:14 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=5.2.4 https://i0.wp.com/wristwatchreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/wwr-logo-square.jpg?fit=32%2C32&ssl=1 Wrist Watch Review https://wristwatchreview.com 32 32 Avast! Luminox presents the Jolly Roger https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/21/avast-luminox-presents-the-jolly-roger/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/21/avast-luminox-presents-the-jolly-roger/#respond Mon, 21 Oct 2019 12:22:52 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=139391 Luminox, the glowing-est watch in all the land, has taken to the High Seas. The Luminox 3800 Jolly Roger features a skull and crossbones motif, quartz movement, and bright, flashing Luminova pips.

From the release:

The pirate is a symbol of freedom and rebellion, of thumbing your notes at the rules of society. To celebrate this spirit, Luminox is introducing the Master Carbon Seal Jolly Roger, limited to 750 pieces for the world.


Used by brigands and buccaneers for centuries to strike fear in the hearts of their victims, the pirate flag nicknamed the Jolly Roger has been used by the Navy SEALs and other special military units from time to time to celebrate their elite status. Luminox uses it here to honor these heroes and as a bit of limited-edition fun.

The watch comes in what Luminox calls a 46mm Carbonox+ case, basically a carbon-fiber like material that is light and water resistant. It comes on a rubber strap and features a rotating bezel.

How much does it cost to fly the flag? About $800, according to Luminox although I’m sure you could also dig this up in some booty if you looked hard enough on enough deserted islands.

]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/21/avast-luminox-presents-the-jolly-roger/feed/ 0
Hublot is crystal clear, they like sapphire cases https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/18/hublot-is-crystal-clear-they-like-sapphire-cases/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/18/hublot-is-crystal-clear-they-like-sapphire-cases/#respond Fri, 18 Oct 2019 05:37:57 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=139383 Hublot, no stranger to doing weird things like covering their watch dial in denim, is now making cases from sapphire. Normally, sapphire is reserved for crystals, but in this case, Hublot has invested heavily in sapphire production. Here, then, is the Big Bang MP-11 in Emerald Green transparent sapphire.

This isn’t the first time Hublot has explored colored sapphire. They’ve previously worked on transparent, black, yellow, blue and red. The benefit of SAXEM sapphire cases is that they are brilliant in color, scratch resistant, and completely transparent.

SAXEM, comes from the words Sapphire Aluminium oXide and rare Earth Mineral, and it’s this recipe that gives the watch its beautiful green color.

The MP-11 houses a 14 day power reserve movement inside the emerald green case, with seven barrels that can be seen from the side of the case. Production will be limited to 20 pieces. If you happen to have $127,000 USD in the couch cushions or map pocket of your Maybach, go to Hublot.com.

BIG BANG MP-11 SAXEM

REFERENCE
911.JG.0129.RX
Limited to 20 pieces

CASE
Polished green SAXEM
Diameter: 45 mm
Thickness: 14.40 mm
Water resistance 3 ATM (30 m)

CASE-BACK
Polished green SAXEM, engraved with “LIMITED EDITION”
XX/20

BEZEL
Polished green SAXEM
Six H-shaped polished and microblasted black titanium screws

DIAL
Black matt skeleton
Black-plated appliques with green luminescence

MOVEMENT
HUB9011: Manufacture manual winding skeleton movement with 7 barrels mounted in series, and power reserve displayed on roller
Frequency : 4 Hz (28,800 A/h)
Power reserve: 14 days
Number of components: 270
Rubies : 39

STRAPS AND BUCKLE
Black structured rubber strap
Black ceramic and black-plated titanium deployant buckle clasp

]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/18/hublot-is-crystal-clear-they-like-sapphire-cases/feed/ 0
Writer wanted https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/18/writer-wanted/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/18/writer-wanted/#respond Fri, 18 Oct 2019 04:48:28 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=139379 Knapsack and WWR are looking for a tech/watch/gadgets writer to bolster our team. Horrible pay, no benefits, and zero chance of promotion – for now. Still interested? Email john@biggs.cc.

]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/18/writer-wanted/feed/ 0
Reviewing the Formex Essence Automatic Silver https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/18/reviewing-the-formex-essence-automatic-silver/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/18/reviewing-the-formex-essence-automatic-silver/#respond Fri, 18 Oct 2019 04:28:20 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=139335 It’s been awhile since my last review of the Formax brand. Back in 2017 I reviewed the Element Chronograph and the GMT Diver. Both were excellent watches, but were very large and more on the sporty side. Formex has just released their new Essence model. This model is more toned down and leans more on the dressy side. The Essence comes in both COSC, and non COSC versions. The main difference between the two are the some of the decorative elements, and of course, the price. I was able to get a hold of their non COSC Essence Automatic Silver model and, so far, so good.

The Dial

With a sunray dial with machined indexes, the dial on this Formex Essence has a very clean and elegant appearance. The contrast between the sunray dial and polished hands/indexes makes visibility surprisingly good. There is a small date window at the 6 o’clock position. There is not much more to this dial, but that’s a good thing. There is no clutter, just a nice clean dial. This dial is protected by an AR coated sapphire crystal.

The Case

The Formex Essence measures in at 43mm in diameter and is made from 316L stainless steel. This is not a small watch, but on the wrist is feels smaller then it is. The case is a mix of brushed and polished finishes and has a nice elegant yet casual look. Formex uses a patented suspension system which provide extra comfort. The case is not one piece. There is the main case which houses the movement an then there is the outer part with the lugs to connect to the straps. The suspension system is between these two parts. This allows the main, inner case, to move independent from from the outer case. This movement is noticeable when doing a lot of wrist movements. It actually works. Water resistance is a good 300ft which is not bad for a non diver.

The Movement

I have always loved exhibition case backs. Seeing a movement run, even the most basic ones, is an enjoyment to me. Formex uses the ETA 2824-2 movement and I really like the look of this one. This movement has 25 jewels and a power reserve of 38 hours. Can’t go wrong with this one.

The Strap

This Formex Essence Silver came with a brown Italian oiled calf leather strap. The strap is very soft and fits comfortable on the wrist. The best thing about this strap is the clasp used to lock this on the wrist. The Essence comes with a folding clasp with a carbon fiber composite frame with a fine adjustment function and stainless steel 316L clasp. The fine adjust function is fantastic. You can make six size adjustments with this clasp which really makes wearing this watch comfortable at anytime of the day. 

The Lume

Formex uses BGW9 Super-LumiNova on the hands and on the indexes. What great about the BGW9 lume is that the glow in the dark is a very cool blue/green. In the light you only see an off white color which blends in really well with the hands and indexes.

The Formex Essence is a great combination of sportiness and casual elegance. You can wear this for just about any occasion. Build quality is excellent on all elements of this Essence. This is the simpler, non COSC version of the Essence and is budget friendly at $785 USD. If you like what you see, go check them out at usd.formexwatch.com. While you are there you should check out their augmented reality app. You can virtually wear any model by using their digital try-on app. Pretty amazing.

Summary

  • Brand and model: Formex Essence Automatic Silver
  • Price: $785.00 USD
  • Who’s it for? Anyone wanting a sporty yet casual timepiece.
  • Would I wear it? For sure
  • What I’d change: Nothing, looks great.
  • The best thing about it: Great case design.

Tech specs from Formex:

  • Movement: Swiss Made ETA 2824-2 (self-winding) Automatic (Elaboré grade), regulated by Formex. 25 jewels. Date display. Standard rotor with Formex logo. 38 hours power reserve.
  • Case: 43mm diameter, 10mm thick, water restant to 330ft
  • Material: Bezel and case, 316L stainless steel. Sapphire crystal front and back.
  • Strap: Italian calf leather straps with curved spring bars. Quick Release function and carbon fiber composite folding clasp with patented Micro-Adjustment System.
  • Dial: Sunray dial with machined indexes. BGW9 Super-LumiNova on hands and indexes.

]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/18/reviewing-the-formex-essence-automatic-silver/feed/ 0
An Aviator designs his perfect watch: Alpina and Michael Goulian https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/10/an-aviator-designs-his-perfect-watch-alpina-and-michael-goulian/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/10/an-aviator-designs-his-perfect-watch-alpina-and-michael-goulian/#respond Thu, 10 Oct 2019 15:42:57 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=139355 To celebrate the last edition of the Red Bull Air Race World Championship, championship aviator Michael Goulian and Alpina are making a limited edition AlpinerX. This thing is hot.

Michael Goulian designed the watch himself, finetuning it to match the new colors of his U.S. based air show plane. Only 250 will be made.

What is it?

The AlpinerX features a yellow inner ring and matching strap with the Team 99 logo at 2 o’clock. It isn’t just a regular watch movement, though. It uses advanced measurement functions using from environmental sensors such as the new heart rate monitoring over BLE connection, UV, temperature, altitude, pressure, compass. That’s right – it’s an analog watch that works in conjunction with a smartphone app.

The watch case is made of black fiberglass and stainless steel, with a rotating compass bezel. It has 100M of water resistance, and two years of battery life. As said before, it’s a tasteful combination of black with yellow accents and a yellow strap.

As for functions, it’s equipped with:

  • Hours, Minutes, Seconds, Date
  • Activity Tracking
  • Heart Rate Monitoring (over BLE connection)
  • Sleep Monitoring
  • Dynamic Coach
  • Worldtimer (2nd Time Zone + Local 24h Time) Smart Alarms (Get-Active Alerts, Sleep Alarm) Calls & Messages Notifications
  • UV Indicator
  • Altitude
  • Compass
  • Temperature
  • Time Recorder (Stopwatch, Timer, Workouts) Barometer

Limited to 250 pieces, the AlpinerX Michael Goulian AL-283MGY5AQ6 is available for $995.

]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/10/an-aviator-designs-his-perfect-watch-alpina-and-michael-goulian/feed/ 0
Master & Dynamic’s MW07 earbuds are surprisingly good https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/09/master-dynamics-mw07-earbuds-are-surprisingly-good/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/09/master-dynamics-mw07-earbuds-are-surprisingly-good/#respond Wed, 09 Oct 2019 16:57:14 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=139350 I like to be surprised. When I first used the Sony WH-1000XM3 I was pleasantly surprised to the point of replacement, deciding that Bose would no longer get my money. Now Master & Dynamic, a higher end audio manufacturer, might be prying the AirPods out of my oddly-shaped skull.

]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/09/master-dynamics-mw07-earbuds-are-surprisingly-good/feed/ 0
Introducing the Shinola Omaha https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/08/introducing-the-shinola-omaha/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/08/introducing-the-shinola-omaha/#respond Tue, 08 Oct 2019 13:00:27 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=139291 You know me by now – if Shinola releases a new watch, I’m going to be paying attention to it. I’m particularly fond of those that break away from the standard circular shape (ala the Brakeman). Well, their latest definitely breaks that mold, squaring things off in the form of the Shinola Omaha.

I know, you’re thinking – Omaha? That’s in Nebraska – not anywhere near Detroit! This watch is actually named after the Omaha-class Navy cruisers, which gives the whole watch a sort of vintage inspiration (and military as well), which is quite present in this watch.

First off, you’ve got a 26 x 36.5mm rectangular case, which is definitely is not something you often see in modern watches. Set into that case, the Shinola Omaha has an glossy enamel dial into which the numerals are set, and the handset spins over. Down at the bottom of the dial, you’ve got the running subseconds letting you know the watch is ticking away.

Powering the whole thing you’ve got the Argonite 1069 quartz movement, assembled (as always) in their Detroit workshop. On the strap side of things, you’ve got many choices, and they come with quick-release spring bars, so changing the look around won’t be an issue.

The Shinola Omaha is available now, and carries a pricetag of $650 (plus any engraving charges, should you want to personalize that caseback), or $700 for a boxed set that comes with two spare straps. For me, while it’s more compact than I’d normally go for, it’s interesting, and I’ve generally been fond of the rectangular cases. We’ll be looking into getting a loaner in, so we’ll let you know how it wears in person. shinola.com

]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/08/introducing-the-shinola-omaha/feed/ 0
Review: Lord Timepieces – Astro Silver is such a cool name for a watch https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/07/review-lord-timepieces-astro-silver-is-such-a-cool-name-for-a-watch/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/07/review-lord-timepieces-astro-silver-is-such-a-cool-name-for-a-watch/#respond Mon, 07 Oct 2019 18:38:10 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=139323 Astro Silver from Lord Timepieces is an affordable, stylish watch. The name alone makes me think of things futuristic, but what I want to talk about here, today, is good taste. So how should we think about this Lord Timepieces review?

The Lord Timepieces Astro is a departure from round watches. We see a lot of round fashion watches, meant to appeal to whichever borough of New York is cool. Instead, coming from England, we have a modern rounded-corners square, with crown guards to the right, and a wing to the left for symmetry.

You could be guilty of thinking I’ve just described the Patek Phillipe Aquanaut in broad strokes, but I assure you, the lug profile from the side is entirely different, and less angular. The dial of the Lord is understated, simply black, applied baguette indice markers, with a minute track made of dots at the very edge of the dial. The dial proclaims “LORD” and nothing more.

The hands are diamond cut so that they catch the light from angles, along with the baguette markers. The surfaces of the case are a mixture, the interplay between a brushed bezel and polished midcase. The caseback screws on, helping achieve a water resistances of 5ATM. I think that if the crown had likewise screwed down, they could accomplish much more.

This isn’t exactly a small watch – it’s 42mm, but the height and short lug distance make it wear comfortably. At 8.8mm thin, it’s an easy, comfortable wear.

The strap is genuine leather, with a suede feel. Quick-release spring bars are present, making it easy to change. The movement is a Miyota quartz, which means it will take just about any kind of abuse you can conceive of and keep time in spite of it all.

This is not a rugged watch, in terms of appearance, but it will go great dressed up for office work, as well as casual weekend wear. The Astro Silver is available for £89 GBP, or about $110 USD. Find out more at LordTimepieces.com

Watch Overview

  • Brand & Model: Astro Silver
  • Price: $110 USD or £89 GBP
  • Who we think it might be for: You want an affordable watch that dresses up nicely, without being a circle.
  • Would I buy one for myself based on what I’ve seen?: This is good clean fun. Why resist?
  • If I could make one design suggestion, it would be: A rubber strap would go great here. Lord has one, but they don’t offer it with this watch.
  • What spoke to me the most about this watch: There’s something quite fun about a square watch that you don’t see a lot of outside very expensive models.

Tech Specs from Lord

  • Case size: 42mm
  • Height: 8.8mm
  • Case material: Stainless steel
  • Crystal: sapphire
  • Strap: gray leather strap
  • Movement: Miyota Quartz
]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/07/review-lord-timepieces-astro-silver-is-such-a-cool-name-for-a-watch/feed/ 0
Back with a beautiful watch, it’s the Magrette Moana Pacific Waterman GMT https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/07/back-with-a-beautiful-watch-its-the-magrette-moana-pacific-waterman-gmt/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/07/back-with-a-beautiful-watch-its-the-magrette-moana-pacific-waterman-gmt/#respond Mon, 07 Oct 2019 13:00:08 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=139213 Magrette is a brand that I will freely admit I have a soft spot for. The Magrette Regattare 2011 was my first automatic watch, and since then, I have reviewed a number of the watches that have come from the New Zealand brand. Things have been quiet for awhile, but now they are back with a big splash. Introducing the Magrette Moana Pacific Waterman GMT.

For me, when I see the Magrette Moana Pacific Waterman GMT, it’s immediately recognizable as a Magrette watch. First, you’ve got that cushion case in a comfortable 42mm size, into which you’ve got a crisp sandwich dial set in, complete with the crisp and bold Magrette logo. So, the base is definitely there. Then, things take a turn from what we’ve seen before.

First off, the Magrette Moana Pacific Waterman GMT has a GMT complication. Sure, Magrette had a dual-time before, that was done via the internal bezel. Here, we’ve got a true GMT hand, paired with the GMT scale appearing on the bezel (either in a blue ceramic or aluminum Pepsi insert). This brings another change. Gone are the Miyota movements, and insteaad, we’ve got an ETA 2893 at work. This also gives us the switch up of the date window appearing down at 6 o’clock.

Past that, the Magrette Moana Pacific Waterman GMT has a handset that I don’t recall seeing before – wider sword-style hands for the hour and minutes, and a stop-signal one for the seconds. For lume, we also get some fun coloration, with blue being used for local time (so, main handset and dial) and green for travel time (the GMT hand and the bezel).

To my eyes, the Magrette Moana Pacific Waterman GMT is a perfectly lovely watch, and it puts into play one of my favorite complications. If you are sailing that same boat, you’ll have some hard choices to make. Well, two, actually. First, do you want your watch case to be stainless steel or CuSn8 bronze? Second, do you want your bezel in the blue-and-red aluminum insert (Pepsi is the flavor of the year, it seems) or in a more durable ceramic, which is all blue? For me, while I like the Pepsi, I think the steel and ceramic is the winning combo.

But, as I say, you’ve got the choice to make for your own pre-order. The pre-order period is open right now, with a nice discount taking the total price down to $780 (retail price will be $890). If you pre-order, you’ll be putting $380 down right now, and then the remainder ($400 plus another $35 for shipping) due when shipping closes in, currently anticipated for February 2020. If you’re interested, get your orders in, as only 150 of each case (so, 300 total) are planned for at this time. magrette.com

Tech Specs from Magrette

  • Movement: Swiss Made ETA Caliber 2893-2 GMT
  • Case dimensions: 42mm excluding the crown, 50.7mm lug-to-lug, 14.5mm tall, 22mm lug width
  • Case finish: Brushed stainless steel or CuSn8 bronze, each with stainless steel engraved case back
  • Bezel: Engraved ceramic or two-tone aluminum, both fully lumed with Swiss Super-LumiNova®
  • Crown: Screw down crown, signed with Magrette shield
  • Crystal: Sapphire (box style), anti-reflective coating
  • Dial, hands & bezel: Contrasting Swiss Super-LumiNova® blue (local time) and green (GMT time)
  • Water-resistance: 500m/1650ft water resistance. Viton® gasket used on case back.
  • Strap: Vintage minimal stitch leather and TROPICTM-style blue rubber, each with signed buckle
  • Limited release: 150 pieces per case initial issue
  • Includes Magrette custom travel case.
]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/07/back-with-a-beautiful-watch-its-the-magrette-moana-pacific-waterman-gmt/feed/ 0
Forget the rings of Saturn, we’re all about the Patrick Adair Stardust Ring https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/04/forget-the-rings-of-saturn-were-all-about-the-patrick-adair-stardust-ring/ https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/04/forget-the-rings-of-saturn-were-all-about-the-patrick-adair-stardust-ring/#respond Fri, 04 Oct 2019 13:00:11 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=139169 We’ve reviewed a number of rings here on WWR, and there’s a group of makers that I’ve started following a little more closely. Interestingly enough, they tend to collaborate together as well on projects, and that led me to an introduction to Patrick Adair (great name, in my book). Well, long story short, we were able to get one of his Stardust rings in for review, and it is quite out of this world.

A number of the rings we’ve reviewed (here, here, and here) have relied on carbon fiber with luminous layers baked into the construction before the rings are made. If you’re looking for something that glows, though, that’s certainly not the only route you can go. There are options when it comes to inlaid rings as well. I’d long admired some rings with inlaid crushed opal, as it makes for quite the display. In that same vein, but a touch less flashy, is what you’ve got in the Patrick Adair Stardust Ring. Here’s a video on how one is made:

From the description of the ring (in the video, and see below), the Patrick Adair Stardust Ring is looking to evoke what may happen as the result of a cosmic collision or explosion. From the photos, I expected quite a dark inlay. And in some lighting, it is. In other lighting, though, it’s a bit lighter in tone. It was that lighter tone that I first saw it, and it called to mind a sandy beach, which can also have some sparkles and glimmers of color from rocks or sea glass. It becomes a fun exercise, then, to see where you can find these flashes, and makes it so you can actually focus on something as you fiddle with the ring (if you’re the sort to do that).

Many of the rings that look like this (with an inlay) will use tungsten carbide (and I actually have one of those as well), but that’s not what’s used here. Instead, you’ve got cobalt chromium on hand, which is used in all sorts of crazy high-end (and high precision) applications. For the ring wearer, the important things are scratch resistance (similar to tungsten carbide) and it being less likely to crack if it gets hit (say, banging into a door jamb). It also doesn’t oxidize, which means it’ll keep that bright, clean look to it.

Obviously, all of that starry, sandy, crystalline stuff is set into the ring using resin. That’s where things get really fun, as there’s a glow material mixed in as well. So, when the lights go down, your ring lights up. In our case, it was a greenish blue glow that is a hue rather familiar to the watchfam, I do imagine. It’s not a blinding glow (like your Orange Monster LINK) – but while it’s soft, it’s noticeable. Of course, if you’re out in the sun and come inside, you’ll notice it shine through a little bit as well, even in daytime.

Since I’ve had the Patrick Adair Stardust Ring, it’s been all but a permanent fixture on my finger, and has even made it’s appearance in the lime shots of some recent watch reviews. What I rather like about the ring is that it has the appearance of a traditional ring. By that, I mean you wouldn’t know the glow is hiding there, nor that it’s using the space-age material for the main body. It looks like a silver, gold, or even platinum ring that you could find at a local shop, but it’s so much more than that. Almost hiding in plain sight, if you will. The carbon fiber rings are great for lightweight, colorful options for sure. If you’re looking for something with a bit more of an upscale look and feel, something like the $345 Patrick Adair Stardust Ring (or his other inlaid rings) are worth checking out. patrickadairdesigns.com

Review Summary

  • Brand & Model: Patrick Adair Stardust Ring
  • Price: $345 (laser engraving for an additional $50)
  • Who’s it for? You want a classic-look ring with hidden details and more than a little bit of glow
  • Would I wear it? Without any reservation
  • What I’d change: If I had my druthers, I wouldn’t have minded a touch more blue-leaning in the glow color
  • The best thing about it: The details that are really only appreciated when you handle the ring in person

Details from Patrick Adair

The inlay for the Star Dust Ring is made using crushed diamonds, moonstone, meteorite shavings, a dash of blue opal, and aqua glow stone. The end result is meant to look like a ring that was crafted from the debris of a massive cosmic explosion. This mixture is inlaid into a Cobalt Chromium ring base. Cobalt Chromium is a super-alloy often found in jet turbines and medical implants. It has a scratch resistance similar to Tungsten Carbide but is much more resistant to cracking from hard impacts. It never oxidizes making it a great choice for a ring that is meant to be worn every day. It also has an exceptionally white color similar to platinum.

]]>
https://wristwatchreview.com/2019/10/04/forget-the-rings-of-saturn-were-all-about-the-patrick-adair-stardust-ring/feed/ 0