Wrist Watch Review https://wristwatchreview.com Unbiased Wrist Watch Reviews Since 2004 Fri, 27 Mar 2020 13:41:02 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=5.3.2 https://i1.wp.com/wristwatchreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/wwr-logo-square.jpg?fit=32%2C32&ssl=1 Wrist Watch Review https://wristwatchreview.com 32 32 Our latest obsession: Bandai model kits https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/03/27/our-latest-obsession-bandai-model-kits-2/ Fri, 27 Mar 2020 13:40:07 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=141825 If you’ve never put together a Bandai model you’re in for a treat. These 3D models are made out of beautifully crafted plastic and snap together, making them the best solution for long nights spent at home.

vv ]]>
Introducing the Christopher Ward C65 GMT Worldtimer https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/03/27/introducing-the-christopher-ward-c65-gmt-worldtimer/ Fri, 27 Mar 2020 13:00:00 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=141783 You know me, I’m the resident GMT-fan here at WWR. While World Timer watches are rather similar, they’re not something I’ve necessarily been a fan of. This is partly due to just how busy (and tricky to read) the dials end up being, while losing the usefulness of a “simple” GMT hand. Well, this new Christopher Ward C65 GMT Worldtimer addresses that quite handily.

The Christopher Ward C65 GMT Worldtimer is a continuation of the slim, retro-style C65 diver style (which we reviewed here in GMT guise) which, for me, is a style that works on a number of fronts. Here you take the 41mm case (a svelte 12mm thick), power it with a Sellita SW330, and you’re on the road to a very nice retro-styled GMT watch that can be dived with. So, how does this watch have a World Time “complication” then?

Well, friends, that’s done via the bezel of the Christopher Ward C65 GMT Worldtimer. You see, you set the time (and the GMT hand) using the crown, just like you’d expect (the chapter ring around the dial is fixed, and gives you the 24-hour scale you’re looking at). Then, using the bezel – which is printed with the major cities of the world, just like you’d expect on a worldtimer – you can see the time around the world. To use it, you simply move the one that represents your current timezone to match the time, and voila! You can tell what time it is all around the world.

Sure, it’s a subtle (and manual) way to get a worldtimer on your wrist, but I think the Christopher Ward C65 GMT Worldtimer actually works great a solid GMT watch. The fact that they use the bezel to indicate world time, rather than an additional time zone, is something that many folks will probably appreciate. Me, I think I prefer working more with the time zones, but that’s me (and I’m not dealing with that many in the course of my day). If you think this is something you need on your wrist once we can all start traveling again, it’s available now directly from Christopher Ward, with pricing starting at $1,140 on the strap, or $1,250 on the bracelet. christopherward.com

Tech Specs

  • Diameter: 41mm (42mm bezel)
  • Height: 12.05mm
  • Weight: 71g
  • Calibre: Sellita SW330
  • Case: 316L stainless steel
  • Water resistance: 15 ATM (150 metres)
  • Vibrations: 28,800 per hour (4 Hz)
  • Timing tolerance: -20/+20 seconds per day
  • Dial colour: Black
  • Lume: Super-LumiNova® Grade X1 GL C1
  • Lug to lug: 47.1mm
  • Strap width: 22mm

Features

  • Swiss made
  • 25 jewel self-winding mechanical movement
  • 42 hour power reserve
  • Dual-time GMT function
  • Date calendar
  • Central hacking seconds
  • Anti-shock system
  • Christopher Ward ‘Colimacone’ finish on rotor
  • Brushed and polished marine-grade stainless steel case
  • Bi-directional steel bezel with printed international cities and brushed steel/black diamond-like carbon (DLC) finishing
  • “Glass box” sapphire crystal
  • Screw-down crown stamped with twin-flag motif
  • Matte finish dial with twin flags debossed at 12 o’clock
  • Yellow and white printed 24-hour ring
  • Super-LumiNova® Grade X1 GL C1-filled hands and indexes
  • Top-brushed indexes with diamond polished facets
  • Signature Trident counter-balance on seconds hand
  • Black diamond-like carbon (DLC) “Trident” motif screw-down backplate
  • Unique engraved serial number
]]>
Introducing the Victorinox FieldForce GMT https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/03/26/introducing-the-victorinox-fieldforce-gmt/ Thu, 26 Mar 2020 13:00:00 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=141769 Yeah, yeah, I know – here I am, talking about yet another GMT-equipped watch. Well, I can’t help it – I just really like the utility of the complication, and there simply have been a good number of those coming out this year (and some more in the pipeline). Today, we’ve got one of the most affordable ones I’ve seen this year, the Victorinox FieldForce GMT.

Now, as you might surmise, the Victorinox FieldForce GMT is a quartz-powered watch. But don’t turn your nose up! As I talked through in this review, there very much is a time and place for quartz in your GMT watch. There’s something to be said for the utter simplicity and reliability of quartz. And if it stops? Well, you go get a new battery, and you’re on your way – you’re not searching for a watch maker to help get things back up and running for you.

The Victorinox FieldForce GMT also has going for it a heavy dose of the Victorinox style. This looks very much like the other watches in the FieldForce lineup, albeit with a much sharper dial (IMO) than the standard three-hander. This is, in large part, due to the inner ring on which the 24-hour scale is printed. This is perfectly aligned so that the hole in the pomme hand for the GMT time perfectly lines up to indicate the hour; it’s just unfortunate that the pomme style just feels out of place with this otherwise sport-oriented look.

The Victorinox FieldForce GMT is available today, in a few different guises. Aside from dial color, the big difference is the strap/bracelet. You can get the leather strap for $375, or go for the bracelet (always my recommendation) for $425. Or, if you prefer a darker hue, you can get the Victorinox FieldForce GMT Sport for $425 which features a PVD case and a rubber strap. swissarmy.com

Watch Overview

  • Brand & Model: Victorinox FieldForce GMT
  • Price: $375 (leather) / $425 (steel bracelet) / $425 (PVD on rubber)
  • Who we think it might be for: You want a simple watch to travel with and track multiple time zones, but not have it gather undue attention
  • Would I buy one for myself based on what I’ve seen? While I like a GMT, probably not – something about that GMT just puts me off it
  • What spoke to me the most about this watch: I like how much more balanced this dial feels as opposed to the main FieldForce lineup

Tech Specs from Victorinox

  • 42 mm stainless steel case (316L)
  • Scratch-resistant, triple-coated and anti-reflective sapphire crystal
  • Water-resistant to 100 m (10 ATM / 330 ft)
  • Screw-in case back
  • Crown protection
  • Super-LumiNova® on hands, numerals and logo
  • Black or blue dial with GMT function
  • Date calendar at 3:00
  • Black leather strap (with the black dial) or stainless steel bracelet (316L )(with the blue dial)
  • Movement:Ronda 515.24H Swiss-made quartz movement
]]>
Smartwatches are outselling Swiss watches https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/03/25/smartwatches-are-outselling-swiss-watches/ Wed, 25 Mar 2020 14:56:11 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=141779 According to Morgan Stanley smartwatches are spanking Swiss watches. In 2019 the firm said that 67.3 million smartwatches were sold versus 20.6 million Swiss watches.

vv ]]>
Cheapest NATO Straps sends out the call for help https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/03/25/cheapest-nato-straps-sends-out-the-call-for-help/ Wed, 25 Mar 2020 12:30:39 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=141777 We’ve reviewed Cheapest NATO straps before, and liked them. They need help. If you’re considering a strap, you might consider buying from them. They’re hurting and are running a sale to try and shore up business.

Adjustable Single Pass Strap Midnight and Barley

The deal is this:

  • 70% sale on all their nylon products, excluding items already on clearance.
  • Additionally, the 20% bulk discount will still apply to orders of 5 straps or more!
  • Free shipping on orders over $25 USD
Marine Nationale Strap Black and Blue

I put together a cart with suede, single pass adjustable straps, some nylon, and easily ended up with a cart over 50 dollars. The point is, we’ve liked their straps before, there’s a sale going on, and you could do a lot worse than to put some affordable straps on your favorite watch while helping a small business.

Single Pass Suede Strap Gray

Everything I put in my cart ranged in price from $5.95 to $7.95. Also, I need to learn some self control. Get your internet browser over to cheapestNATOstraps.com and put some new shoes on your favorite watch.

]]>
Skagen is getting colorful with their Hoptimist collaboration https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/03/24/skagen-is-getting-colorful-with-their-hoptimist-collaboration/ Tue, 24 Mar 2020 13:00:00 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=141658 In case you hadn’t heard, there’s a lot going on in the world. And sure, in the grand scheme of things, writing about watches? It’s not really that important. However, as something that can take your mind off of things for awhile while you’re hunkered down in your home? Well, that we can help you out with. We recently heard about this release that brings some color to things, in the form of the Skagen X Hoptimist collection.

Both brands call Denmark home, so it makes sense that they would work together in this format. They’ve taken a simpler quartz three-hander in a 41mm case (the Skagen Aaren), and given it a good dose of happy. In that, you’ve got this sort of springy bobblehead character showing up on the dials. On a few of the designs, it’s right there and bold, and in the others it’s a little more subtle. Likewise, the little springy dude shows up on the silicone strap as well.

Coming in at $125, the four variations are all limited-edition pieces. It varies by the lineup, but the total collection comes in at under 1,500 pieces, so it’s definitely a smaller addition. Still, if you’re looking for something relatively inexpensive with a good dose of whimsy and color to lift your spirits, the Skagen X Hoptimist is there to help you out. skagen.com

]]>
The Hamilton PSR is a literal blast from the past https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/03/23/the-hamilton-psr-is-a-literal-blast-from-the-past-2-2/ Mon, 23 Mar 2020 20:27:51 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=141765 Perhaps this is just a matter of my own childhood, but I remember being fascinated by those calculators that had the light-up red numerals on their displays. When I found that those also showed up in watches, well, it was just a matter of time till I had one (and I did in the late 90s, a second-hand Fossil one that I found). They were cool, but viewing it in daylight was a disaster. There’s a newly reimagined version – the Hamilton PSR – that has a slight twist on that display technology, so here’s to hoping daylight visibility is better.

v ]]>
Reviewing the new and improved Gruppo Gamma Divemaster. https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/03/23/reviewing-the-new-and-improved-gruppo-gamma-divemaster/ Mon, 23 Mar 2020 13:00:00 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=141570 Back in 2017 I reviewed the first Gruppo Gamma Divemaster and I really liked it. That was a tough, no nonsense diver. Fast forward a few years and now there is a new Divemaster. This one is a bit more refined and has some nice new improvements. Gruppo Gamma was kind enough to send me one to review and I am liking what I see.

The Dial

I really love the look of this dial, a 2-tone gradient black sandwich dial. The sandwich dial really add a lot of dimension. Vintage lume is applied to all the numbers and markers and that really does add a vintage look to this watch. Hour and minute hands are silver color with the seconds hand in red. These hands are mounted to a Swiss made ETA 2824-2 automatic movement. Protecting the dial is a thick AR coated sapphire crystal. Surrounding this dial is one of the biggest improvements made on this watch, the rounded ceramic bezel. At first glance that bezel looks like it could be sapphire, but no, it’s ceramic (and very nice).

The Case

The case on this Divermaster is made from 316L stainless steel with a nice brushed finish. It’s at the perfect size for a diver at 44mm in diameter. At this size the dial is much more visible. Since this is supposed to be a serious diver it does come with a helium escape valve. The use for that valve is only needed by saturation divers. That a very small percentage of divers, but if you are one of them, then this watch can do the job. The need for that valve is only necessary when diving very deep, while breathing helium. Water resistance is good to 500 meters or around 1500 feet so that should work just fine.

The Strap

This watch comes with two straps. You get a nice soft leather strap with signed pin and buckle clasp. The other strap is a more utilitarian black canvas strap which also has a signed pin and buckle clasp. Both look excellent but if you are going to get this thing in the water you want to make sure and go with the canvas strap. The leather strap looks very clean and can be dressy if you need it to be. I love watches that come with extra straps.

The Lume

Lume is fantastic on this Gruppo Gamma Divemaster. Vintage color Swiss Super-luminova is heavily applied to all hands and hour/minute markers. The glow is bright and last for a ling time.

This new Gruppo Gamma Divermaster checked all the boxes for me. It’s still tough but it can dress up. The movement went from a Japanese Seiko NH35A to the Swiss made ETA 2824-2. The Bezel went from a flat sapphire crystal to a nice rounded ceramic. Don’t think there is more they can do on this one. They are currently on sale for $750, but for our readers, you can get an additional $100 off by using the code WWR200 when you checkout. Not a bad deal for $650. If you like what you see go check them out at gruppogammawatches.com.

Review Summary

  • Brand and model: Gruppo Gamma Divemaster D-01N
  • Price: On Sale for $750 USD. Retail $950
  • Who’s it for: Dive watch lovers and professional divers
  • Would I wear it: Oh Yes
  • What I’d change: Add a date to this model
  • The best thing about it: That rounded ceramic bezel.

Tech Specs from Gruppo Gamma

Case:

  • Mk II Divemaster, 316L stainless steel, brushed, water resistance 500m
  • Diameter 44mm, length 52mm lug-to-lug, height 14.5mm, lug width 24mm, weight 140g with strap
  • Double-domed sapphire crystal with underside anti-reflective coating, stainless steel caseback secured by screws, screw lock crown
  • Helium escape valve
  • 120-click unidirectional rotatable bezel, ceramic, markers with Swiss Super-LumiNova® vintage color

Movement:

  • ETA 2824-2, automatic bi-directional winding, 28800 bph, accuracy +/-12 s/ day, power reserve 42 hrs, Swiss made

Dial:

  • 2-tone gradient black sandwich dial, markers filled with Swiss Super-LumiNova® vintage color
  • Silver color hour and minute hands and red seconds hand, with Swiss Super-LumiNova® vintage color

Strap:

  • Horween leather, ochre brown, length 125/75mm, width 24/22mm with buckle
  • Canvas, black, length 125/75mm, width 24/22mm with buckle

Accessories:

  • Screwdriver for strap changes, travel pouch
]]>
The Casio F91 is getting colorful for spring https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/03/20/the-casio-f91-is-getting-colorful-for-spring/ Fri, 20 Mar 2020 13:00:00 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=141600 Earlier this month, we wrote about (over on Knapsack) about a ill-conceived crowdfunding project that was taking the beloved Casio F91 movement and shoving it into a case that killed most functionality. Well, what if you want the real deal, but want something, well, just plain colorful? These four new additions to the Casio F91 lineup should grab your eye, then.

Now, if you go the Casio website, you won’t find these new colorways just yet (they’re planned for later this spring). That said, you’re still getting all of the functionality that this line has had for (what seems like) forever:

  • Water-resistance up to 100 meters
  • A daily alarm
  • 1/100th second stopwatch
  • LED light
  • Auto calendar
  • Seven-year battery life

What’s different, of course, are the colors – white (F91WS-7), grey (F91WS-8), blue (F91WS-2) and pink (F91WS-4). I’ve included those model numbers so you can search for them as you see fit. While watch snobs may turn their nose up at resin cases and straps, that very material is what allows this colorful take on the watch.

Are these new versions of the Casio F91 for everyone? Probably not, but with prices set at $26.95 (just a few bucks more than the regular version) it could certainly be well-placed for a lot of people. IE, you just want something simple for your day-to-day, or if you’re looking to get a child their “first” watch. While the Casio F91 is inexpensive, it’s definitely not a cheap watch by any means. Changing colors is a simple way for Casio to keep the line fresh. casio.com

]]>
Get timing in subtle style with the Porsche Design 1919 Chronotimer Flyback https://wristwatchreview.com/2020/03/19/get-timing-in-subtle-style-with-the-porsche-design-1919-chronotimer-flyback/ Thu, 19 Mar 2020 13:00:00 +0000 https://wristwatchreview.com/?p=141605 It wasn’t all that long ago that I dipped my toes in the proverbial Porsche Design waters when I wrote about them here. Well, they just released another model in the 1919 lineup that I’ve a feeling will appeal to folks out there who consider themselves fans of chronographs – the Porsche Design 1919 Chronotimer Flyback.

Unsurprisingly, the Porsche Design 1919 Chronotimer Flyback definitely has the look and feel of the prior 1919 I wrote about. This comes in via the form of the case, which has the same “floating lugs” look to it that visually isolates the case from the strap. Of course, inside of the case, you’ve got something quite different going on. This chronograph is not new to the lineup, but it does definitely bring a new color (of which I am a fan) to the fore.

Here, of course, it’s a shade of dark, dark blue (which presumably would be lighter in various lighting conditions). This allows the white of the indices and handset to stand out in stark relief. It also allows something to happen that I rather like with a chronograph – the subdials can sort of melt into the background, make it look less like, well, a chrono. Sure, those pushers sticking out of the titanium case give things away, but you can visually treat them as crown protectors as well (which, given how tall that crown is, looks like it could use them that way).

In many ways, this Porsche Design 1919 Chronotimer Flyback has a lot going for it just like the Tutima I recently reviewed – it’s lighter weight (due to the titanium and the strap, rather than a bracelet) and you’ve got a chronograph that’s a sleeper version of a chronograph. Though, you know something is hiding there given how thick it is (almost 15mm). Then again, you need some room for all of the engineering that went into their in-house movement as well.

So, while I’m still very much not a chronograph guy, this Porsche Design 1919 Chronotimer Flyback – at $6,350 – is not one that I’d be upset about having to put onto my wrist. I mean, aside from the big design details, look at the smaller things. For instance, the date window – it’s rotated to where it doesn’t cut into any other elements, and it’s color-matched. Or the running-seconds indication – it’s there, over on the right, subtle, but enough to let you know that things are running. In short, there’s a lot to like, and now you’ve got at least two high-end titanium chronographs to consider – the Porsche Design 1919 Chronotimer Flyback being your automotive-inspired one, of course – complete with Porsche leather on the strap. porsche-design.us

Watch Overview

  • Brand & Model: Porsche Design 1919 Chronotimer Flyback
  • Price: $6,350
  • Who we think it might be for: You want an auto-inspired chronograph that doesn’t look like a chrongraph
  • Would I buy one for myself based on what I’ve seen? Given how little I’d use the complication, it would just become a maintenance burden – so, no, not really.
  • If I could make one design suggestion, it would be: I’m guessing that crown is as large as it is to make it easy to use – but does it have to be that tall?
  • What spoke to me the most about this watch: As with the Tutima, the fact that it doesn’t look much like a chronograph

Tech Specs from Porsche Design

  • Case
    • Diameter: 42.00 mm
    • Height: 14.90 mm
    • Material: Titanium
    • Finishing: Glass bead-blasted and polished
    • Crown: Screw-down
    • Glass: Sapphire crystal with hard coating, scratch-proof and with sevenfold anti-glare properties on both sides
    • Case back: Screw-down
    • Water-resistant: Up to 10 bar, dynamic
  • Dial
    • Blue with white accents
    • Minute, hour, second counter at 9 o’clock
    • Date window at 4 o’clock
  • Armband
    • Blue Genuine Porsche car leather with grey stitching
    • Folding clasp with pusher
  • Mechanism
    • Caliber: Porsche Design caliber WERK 01.200, COSC-certified
    • Rotor: Porsche Design Icon Rotor
    • Diameter: 30.00 mm
    • Height: 7.90 mm
    • Power reserve: 48 hours
    • Frequency: 28.800 per hour (4 Hz)
    • Jewels: 25
]]>